Parenting in the Desert

20136_1234635833099_6127370_n

Well, this is a part of my parenting series. No, we do not live in the desert. Quite the opposite! We almost live in a rain forest. The kind of desert I am referring to is a spiritual desert. There are times when due to the demands of parenting, you will feel very spiritually dry.

I went through this every time I had a new baby. It was hard to take the time to become close to the Lord. If no one was needing me, I would feel like I should pray or read the Scriptures. Most of the time, I would just fall asleep! And then there was taking babies to church. I didn’t have the babies that would happily go to the church nursery. Nope. I was mostly good with that, as I was not keen on handing them off either. The hard thing was paying attention when I had my babies in service. They wanted my attention. They would smile for the first time, or do something else that I didn’t want to miss. Sometimes, they were hungry. Sometimes, they did things that weren’t so cute. (pooping, puking, crying) Anyway, it left me spiritually dry for a while. I didn’t feel like I was learning anything or getting closer to the Lord during that time.

I have gone through this at other stages of my kids lives too. Parenting can be pretty intense! Kids go through so much during our time with them. They may want to eat your Bible, or wake up during your planned quiet time. They may get older and want to talk to you late at night, which makes you too tired to wake up for your quiet time. They get sick or hurt.

I realized not too long ago, that even though these times may seem spiritually dry, they are not as dry as you may think. Parenting is a spiritual act. You are showing those kiddoes so much about the Lord as you care for them and put their needs first. When we call on the Lord because we are sick, hungry, or crying He doesn’t tell us to hang on because He needs some quiet time. Instead, he jumps in and takes care of our needs. This is what we are modeling for our kids when we parent through the desert times.

The desert times are more times of service than learning and studying. A time of giving to these little ones God has placed in our care. Acts 20:35 says, “In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’”

Leave a Reply

